Autiobianchi (Lancia) Y10 Fire

Time for another post about my real 1:1 life and little cars. Many years ago I had cause to travel to a nation in the Middle East and to get around that nation I was given a 1 Litre Lancia identical to this model. Well, what an experience. First of all, this little car had the steering wheel in the wrong place. It was on the left. And secondly, and just as alarmingly, the little car had no go. As an Aussie, I am used to driving cars with some power. Some. But this little tyke had none. I swear it could reach around 125KM/H (77MPH) flat out, but only with a tail wind. And as for acceleration, well, it was kind of like ‘push accelerator all the way to the floor, and count to 100’ and then you might reach 100KM/H (62MPH).

As regular readers know, the Resin D’etre for this blog is sharing models which I own that are similar to, or the same as the 1:1 cars I have owned or had something to do with. I have owned this model for some years now so I don’t know about their current availability or price, but I can tell you it is a great representation of the real thing, right down to the colour (see the picture below).

If you enjoyed this post, please comment below. Models like this, which are exactly the same, including the colour of a vehicle I have had some relationship with are what I most like to collect. How about yourself?

Leave a comment